West Africa

BREAKING NEWS: 15 Senators defect from Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari’s ruling party

BREAKING NEWS: 15 Senators defect from Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari’s ruling party
  • PublishedJuly 24, 2018

At least 15 Senators from Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari’s ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) have defected to the opposition and former ruling Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), local news reports confirmed Tuesday.

According to Nigeria’s Vanguard online, those who have defected include Senators Dino Melaye; Tejuoso; Shaaba; Gemade; Shittu; Rafiu; Shitu Ubali; Isa Misau; Hunkuyi; Monsurat; Danbaba; Nafada; Nazif; Kwankwaso and Azeez Murtala Nyako. The paper also reports that The Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki “has equally hinted he may join the defectors.” The Senate President is the country’s third highest office. The news of the defections also come amid reports that the former ruling PDP is the process of rebranding which will include adopting a new party name. Political tensions in Africa’s most populous country rising in the lead up to general elections slated for February 2019.

Written By
Regina Jane Jere

reGina Jane Jere is a Zambian-born London-based journalist and founding Editor of the New African Woman magazine the sister-publication of the New African magazine of which she was the Deputy Editor for over a decade. The mother of two juggles a wide-range of editorial and managerial duties, but she has particular passion on women’s health, education, rights and empowerment. She is also a former Zambian correspondent for Agence France Presse, and a former Africa Researcher at Index on Censorship. She writes extensively on a wide range of issues, from politics to women’s rights, media and free speech to beauty and fashion.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *